I Klatus: Nagual Sun Album Review

I Klatus are a Prog, Doom, Psychedelic and Beyondcore band from Chicago, USA. The band consists of  Tom Denney, John Bomher, and Chris Wozniak.

When I got I Klatus’ Nagual Sun album through the other week, I was thinking What was this band like? and when I did a bit of research on them, I noticed that on their Facebook page it say that they are a Beyondcore band, and I was wondering what that meant, but as I have recently moved, I had to put reviews on the back burner until I got sorted out with the move.

Anyways now that back doing reviews etc, this is the first time that I have heard the Nagual Sun album. As I put the first track came on I knew what Beyondcore meant, it is very similar to Doom, Prog and Psychedelic metal.

Now, when I listened to the album, it took me back to a time when I was a kid growing up in the late 80’s and the very early 90s, where I was listening to a of dark metal, where some of the music I was listening to was Doom and Goth, with such bands as Bauhaus, The Sisters Of Mercy, The Mission etc.

The first track that is up is Beneath The Waves I quite like this track as it has that heaviness and darkness that I really enjoy listening to from when I was a kid in the 80’s. When I listened to the rest of the album it follows in the same vain as the first song, Serpent Cults is brilliant as it has some amazing guitars on this track which I love listening to.

Sorcerer’s Gaze has some down right dirty guitars on this which make the song brilliant to listen to and coupled that with the vocals and drums, these makes the song very enjoyable to listen to.

Moment Of Devastation, this track reminds me at the beginning and throughout the song of some Pink Floyd and Fleetwood Mac tracks from back in the late 60’s early 70’s with the guitars but they have put a modern twist with them with the vocals, and it has a Psychedelic vibe to this as well, which is pretty cool

The Alivist, love this track as it starts out and continues with some awesome gritty and heavy guitars and down right brilliant vocals, which brings this track alive with raw power. Jaws Of The Shark is up next, with this track it follows on from The Alivist with the brutality of the guitars, and is pretty good.

Father John Thomas (The Penitent) is the shortest track off the album coming in at just over two minutes, where as the rest have been between six and ten minutes long, but that doesn’t detract from how good this song is with all the band coming together producing this track.

Final Communion is the last track off the album, and this has to be one of the best tracks as this has a definite Prog Metal feel, that the fans of the genre will love, with the soaring guitars and vocals.

I would say that my favourite tracks off this album are Beneath The Waves, Moments Of Devastation, The Alivist and Final Communion, these songs are brilliant and I would happily play any one of these on my radio show Project Metal Across The Pond (only on Digital Revolution Radio). If you like any of the genres that I have described at the top of this blog, you’ll need to go and check this band out on their Facebook page as these guys are brilliant.

I would give I Klatus and the album Nagual Sun a definite 4.5 out of 5 awesome band and awesome music go check them out.

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

