Occasvs: Nocturnal Majestic Mysteria Album Review

Occasvs is a Chthonic Black Metal band from Santiago, Chile. The band consists of Nolvz: Invocations and Storms, Ülmontem: Seismic Pulse, Sinn Hayek: Ritual Drums.

I have listened to Nocturnal Majestic Mysteria album on and off for the past few days now, in that time, I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it. I have heard and love Black Metal I have done for the past 25 + years, but I haven’t heard of Chthonic Black Metal before up until now. So for the last few days like I said, I have been listening to the album.

What initially put me off was the first track, Andante Nocturno Op.7. Don’t get me wrong it is a brilliant piece of music, but to me it does sound like it is taken off a film soundtrack. But, it does set up the album amazingly well as it leads into track two Triumphal Defeat, which is more like it, with the thunderous guitars and drums, and the typical vocal onslaught.

Under Human Eyes is up next. this song reminds me a little of operatic Power Metal on certain parts of the track, but it still a amazing Black Metal track, and quite possibly my favourite off the album. Psychic Burial is a 2 minute filler, which has some creepy strings on it but non the less good track.

Ritual Death is the 5th track and there is a theme of an operatic style running through this album. It is brilliant how they implemented it and combined it with Black Metal, as these go perfectly hand in hand.

Seer is the next track, this is by far the longest track of the album, hitting just over 10 minutes. If you like epic 10 + minute tracks with some awesome guitar solos and riffing you are going to love Seer, as this track has everything. Union is the last track of the album, and what a track it is, as it has that epicness to it, with the soaring guitars, to the orchestral arrangement accompanying it.

After a good few listens to the album I have come to the conclusion that Occasvs is one hell of a band from Chile, and at first I wasn’t quite sure of them, but I was glad that I changed my mind about them.

I highly recommend that you go and check these guys out on their Facebook page, as you will not be disappointed.

I would give Occasvs a 4.5 out of 5, after a few listens to the album, I was glad that I changed my mind about the band.

Project Metal Music.

Leave a Reply

