Antidote: The Rock Years Album Review

Over the years I have listened to a lot of Rock and Metal, and when a band comes along that I completely forgot about, it does come as a surprise when they offer up a remastered album  of songs from their back catalog.

Now, Antidote are from the New York area, USA. and they are a thrash metal band. The band consists of Robb Nunzio – Guitar, Tristan Michael – Bass, REA – Drums and Drew Stone – Vocals.

As I sat down, and played The Rock Years, I started to recall some of the bands that had been out in the eighties, granted some were terrible, some were good and were pretty damn amazing. I first came across Antidote back in the mid eighties, when someone I knew had a copy of Thou Shalt Not Kill EP and they were playing it in the background when I visited them. At that time I wasn’t really into it, as I was more used to the UK Rock/Metal scene.

Now that Antidote has released The Rock Years, now that I have come to appreciate what Antidote has done over the years. As I have listened to The Rock Years album a few times now, I am really enjoying this offering.

The tracks off the album that has impressed me is: Return 2 Burn as this has that old school thrash that I enjoy. We’re Comin Afta You I totally love the guitars on this song. Positively Negative, this track is amazing the drums on this song drives the song along with the guitars. Road Warrior is just one hell of a track as the whole band are just brilliant on this song. The final track that impressed me is Something Must Be Done, I like this track as it has that Thrash and Punk vibe to it.

I would highly recommend that you check out Antidote on their Facebook page you will not be disappointed.

I would give The Rock Years a 4.5 out of 5, loved this album as it took me back to a time when I was a young kid exploring the wonderful world of Rock and Metal.

Project Metal Music

 

Leave a Reply

