PWFV + Massa Confusa + Casual Threats: Gig Review

When I first heard that PussyWillowFurryVenus were playing at Pop Recs Ltd about a month ago, I thought It has been awhile since I seen them, I’ll go down. When I saw who they were playing with, I haven’t seen these bands before, and I wondered what they sound like, so I thought that what the hell.

Now, I have been to Pop Recs Ltd before to see bands perform there, and yes it is on the small side, but that is the charm and character of the place, and it gives a more good vibe to the gig as the bands and fans can interact with each other more.

As I got to the place, there was a good few people there which is always good to see.

When it was time for the bands to come onto the stage, first up was Casual Threats. As they started, my initial thoughts were that this band was pretty good, as I thought they were an alternative punk band. when they went through their set, I was starting to like them more and more, as they had a lot of energy, and they were really good musicians, as in song writers and playing their instruments.

They also were interacting with the crowd really well and and the people who were there, were responding well to them, as the crowd were very appreciative of the band. One of the songs they did was a cover which they did very well. Anyways as they approached the end of their set, the singer said that this was the last song of their set and when they were finishing it, the singer/guitarist put down his guitar and walked out into the crowd mingled then went outside, whilst the drummer and bassist carried on playing for a couple of minutes before they finished the set, and the crowd was loving it, and so was I.

Singer and guitarist for Massa Confusa

The next band that was up was Massa Confusa, this two piece band was one of the few bands that I know of that use a drum machine, as they were setting I noticed the guitar that the guitarist/singer was using, the actual guitar lit up around the edge of the body, and I was thinking that I haven’t seen one of those guitar for a long time. Anyways as they started their set I was thinking that these were new age, prog rock of the late 60’s and early 70’s, now I am into all types of rock and metal and Massa Confusa are good at the genre that they were going for, as they were going through their set the crowd was really loving them.

The bassist for Massa Confusa

PussyWillowFurryVenus was up next, well what can I say about this band that I haven’t said in previous blogs. This band is awesome in so many ways, and this show was no different. As they started the set, they started off with the crowd favourite Sticky Vicky and went through their songs off the E.P. The Slag Who Fell To Earth. Also the did some new tracks that they written. Over the course of the set I was loving the tracks that they did such as Aeon-Magus, Liar and others.

Singer for PussyWillowFurryVenus

The track that really stood out for me (apart from Sticky Vicky) was the last track they did of the set, didn’t catch the title of it but it seriously rocked, as it had a lot o9f tribal drumming. I do hope that they will put this track that they are doing, as I do love it.

Guitarist for PWFV

Well overall, this is was a tremendous gig with some talented musicians/bands. I would highly recommend people to go and see all of these bands.

Casual Threats I would give them a 4 out of 5 I do need to hear/see these guys more as I did find them really good

Massa Confusa I would give them a 4 out of 5 like Casual Threats need to see/hear the more and they are also really good as well

PWFV I would give them a 5 out of 5, they always impress me every time I see them, and this was my 9 time in seeing them.

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

