Thieves Of Liberty: Fitzgerald’s Gig, Sunderland.

Over the last few months, I have been hearing of some local bands, and either they have been cropping up in certain conversations or on Facebook. One of those bands is Thieves Of Liberty as I have been hearing some good stuff about them. They are a covers band from the North East of England.

When I heard that Thieves Of Liberty were playing Fitzgerald’s (of known locally as Fitzy’s), the other day, I was sort of toying with the idea of going to see then, but today (21st of Jan) came I thought Okay I’ll go and see them just to see what they are like.

As I got to the venue, the place was pretty packed out. Some people were there for a meal, some were there for a few drinks and some were there for the band. and when the band came and introduced themselves and started playing, I was like Okay these are not bad, not bad at all, after the first two songs.

They started to play the third song of the first half of there set, which was Highway To Hell by AC DC, I was like this could go either way, either they will totally mangle the song or they would do a decent cover of it. Now, I have seen AC DC twice in the last 16 years. Surprisingly enough, they did a really good version of it.

Queen was up next with the version of Hammer to Fall, they did a really good rendition of the song. the next song that they did was Crazy Train by Ozzy Osbourne, I have seen this being played live in 1998 when I saw Ozzy play down in Milton Keynes. They were a bit shaky on this track as Randy Rhodes was a virtuoso on the guitar when he was alive, but they managed to pull it off by the end of the song.

When they did 4 Non Blondes classic What’s Up, I thought that the singer had some pretty good vocals on her and she properly rocked it out. What surprised me was that they did ZZ Top’s Sharp Dressed Man which really good as the singer sand this really well.

They through in an original track but didn’t quite catch the title as there was a bit of noise in the venue, plus when you have been to, to many gigs over the last 25 plus years your hearing does go a bit.

After they did a couple of more songs they finished their first half of the set and they took a 15 minute break.

When Thieves Of Liberty came back on stage they kicked off with the Joan Jett anthem I love Rock N Roll which really got the crowd going, and some of the crowd that was there for the food stuck around for the band.

Foo Fighters Learn to Fly was up next which was pretty good as was the previous FF track that they did in the first half of the set. When they said that the next track, people might not like or know the song, but will sing along to it, the song was Song 2 by Blur. This got a big reaction from the crowd as they were singing along to the song.

Paranoid by Black Sabbath was up next and like the Highway To Hell it could of went either way, and it went really well, as virtually everyone was singing along to it and the band was buzzing from the crowd participation.

A couple more songs went by by The Darkness and Queen. But what got me excited is they did Guns N Roses’ Sweet Child O’ Mine, and i thought when they started to play it was they better mess it up, as it is a total classic track but the pulled it off completely especially the opening riff.

Another classic track that they did was AC DC’s Whole Lotta Rosie, which was pretty good, but the drummer had done a slight duff note, but what the hey it was a live setting even the big names have some notes in there time, when they play live.

As they did Whole Lotta Rosie as the final song, people were shouting encore and they obliged by playing another Guns N Roses track, this time Paradise City which was brilliant. They were going to stop at that, but when they asked what time it was, they decided to do one more song, they did Don’t Stop Believing by Journey and this was awesome.

Well that was the end of the gig, and it was brilliant, I am glad that I went to  see this band, and I would love to see them again at some point.

I would give Thieves of Liberty a 4.5 out of 5, they did put in an original song in the set and did some awesome covers but I would like to hear some more original material when I see the next.

If you get the chance go and see them, I highly recommend you go and see them live.

Project Metal Music

4 thoughts on “Thieves Of Liberty: Fitzgerald’s Gig, Sunderland.

  1. First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself
    and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had a
    tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted
    simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Kudos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

