Metal Empire Showcase – gig review – Pt 4 Legion X

November 5, 2016 – Marietta, GA – The 120 Tavern

Finally, it was time for the band I had come to see…Legion X. I have known Chet, the lead guitarist, through LinkedIn for a while and had listened online to some of their tracks prior to the show. Therefore I was already expecting this band to be great, but what I experienced this evening left me in awe.

Legion X is Syd Howell on vocals, Chet Powell on lead guitar, Kurtis Campbell on bass/drums and Jacob Groce on rhythm guitar. They have been around since 2002 and won the GA award for best metal band in 2013. When they played “Tortureco” I was as excited as a little kid.

“Slime Lord” and “Brothers” followed. Chet plays a mean guitar and I was so hoping for a mosh pit to form, but either it was the wrong venue or the wrong crowd. I did see a few members of ThunderShield in the crowd massively headbanging with some of their friends. The Pillage came next.

“Zombies”, check out Chet’s awesome guitar playing skills.

Syd sounded like Stewey from Family Guy announcing “Seven Kingdoms”, the next song. I think this was on purpose and it was a good impression.

They kept the brutal riffs coming with “Hand of Thor” and “Arrival of the Fittest”. Omg! I was so loving this!

Legion X is one of the best bands I have ever seen and they are totally my genre of metal (Lamb of God and Cradle of Filth count amongst my all time favs). Next time I will start my own mosh pit if I have to. They actually gave me a feeling of homesickness, back in Germany my best friend and I always went to the thrash gigs together. We would have shown the crowd how to mosh.

Find them on Facebook and ReverbNation and Twitter @legionx1 These guys are just so fucking awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

