PussyWillowFurryVenus: The Slag Who Fell To Earth EP Review

Over the last 40 years, I have listened to a lot of music, primarily Rock and Metal. and in that time, I have listened to a lot of amazing bands, groups, singers, etc, but there has been – for me anyway – a hand full of those that stuck with me from the first day I heard them to now, they are Motorhead, Iron Maiden, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Within Temptation, Inkubus Sukkubus, After Forever, Nightwish, ReVamp, Epica and Dimmu Borgir.

In the last year or so, I was looking on ReverbNation to see if there was any local bands that were playing any gigs in the area and I have came across PussyWillowFurryVenus, and they were playing at Fitzgeralds in Sunderland in March of this year, so I checked their page out, and when I played their music, I was immediately hook and I had to go see them.When I saw them live for the first time at Fitzgeralds, they were supported by Waste Of Space another local band, I was thinking  Damn, Damn, Damn, I knew the Pussy’ were good when I heard them on ReverbNation, but actually seeing them live, they are even better, and that was it, I had to get their EP The Slag Who Fell To Earth. So when I got home I did, I went to the Bandcamp page and downloaded the EP.

When I got the EP and played it for the first time, I was blown away how good they were and it took me back to the first time i saw them. All the track on the EP are really good, but my favourite track has to be the first track off the EP, Sticky Vicky, as it has that punky mischievous vibe to it. This song has some sweet drumming and guitars. The bass on this track is awesome, as it helps drive the song along. Steph Mac’s vocals on this track is down right sublime.

Mighty Aphrodite is the next track, and what a track. This song is brilliant as it has some amazing guitars on it, supplied by Rob, and the drums are awesome. You have to listen to this track to get the full experience of the song. Hateful is the next song, and this sung mainly by Rob the guitarist with Steph taking a slightly more of a back seat on this song.

Aeon-Magus is a song that is very haunting at the beginning. Also this has some killer drums and some sweet thunderous guitars. The way they have written and put this track together is well done and crafted, and it is awesome. The 5th song is In Doom, and if you like a grungey, bass ladened track you will love this song. and it is brilliant.

Black Dahlia is next and this starts off with some excellent acoustic guitars, and they carry on throughout the song and Steph’s vocals are so haunting with Rob on counterpoint and this is a awesome track to chill out to. Cold is the last track and Rob has taken over singing duties whist playing the acoustic guitar, and with Steph on backing vocals, this song like Black Dahlia is very atmospheric and is one of my favourite tracks off the EP.

Well this EP is absolutely brilliant and everyone should have it their collection, I highly recommend everyone to go out and buy this EP.

I definitely give this a 5 out of 5 for its awesomeness

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

