Stacy Brown And The Big Bad Wolves: Self Title Album.

Around 25 years ago, when I was in my late teens, there was a new genre of Rock that was sweeping the world, and that genre was Grunge. Now back then Grunge was pretty much dominated by such bands as Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam and the like. Back then, a lot of people didn’t know what they were listening to, but they were thinking that Grunge was good. Over the last 25 years there was a good amount of evolution within the genre, and to this present day it still survives as a genre.

A couple of weeks back, I got on talking to Stevie Strings from the band Stacy Brown and The Big Bad Wolves, and he said that they were in the process of completing an album and should be ready to put on sale. But the band wanted a good few reviewers/magazines etc to get a copy to see what the general reaction to the album was, so the day came when the album was finished and he messaged me that the album was in the post and i should get it shortly.

Today was the day when it landed onto the door mat. Now usually when I come across a band I tend to do some basic research on the band, But I wanted to review the album on its own merits, as I tend to ask a load of questions and the only thing I knew of the band is that they are from Jacksonville, Florida, USA, and the band consists of Stacy Brown, Phillip Kendrick, Stevie Strings and Scott Hutchison. So, I just want this to be my honest review of the album.

When I put the album on and on the first listen I was like Damn this is good, and after several listens, it has grown on me, as this takes me back the the glory and hay day of Grunge back in the early 90’s.

The first track off the album is Release and is one of my favourites off the album, as it has that Hard Rock vibe going on that White Zombie had on the More Human Than Human track, with a Grunge undertone on the vocals and guitars. Flake is the next song, this is more like it there is a huge dose of grunge and some nice riffing on this track and the drums are really good, and the vocals are rock solid.

Forgotten Pt 1 is is more up tempo in the guitars and drums. It has some sweet dirty sounding guitars which you will find in a lot of Grunge. The story behind this, is that this guy has been been forgotten and he asks the question Why? Why I have been forgotten. And thus he tries to find out why. Forgotten Pt 2 is a lot slow in tempo than Pt 1 and the guys finds out something he doesn’t like and he reflects on his life and is a broken man.

The Day I Sold My Soul To Rock N Roll is the 5th track off the album, this track is a proper Grunge track with some melancholy, sweet guitars, and awesome vocals, and all of these makes this track brilliant and is going on to my playlist.

Like the previous track, Where’d Things Go Bad, continues in the same vain, but on this song this some awesome drums and they get you nodding your head to the beat. Welcome To The Fold, if you really like the grungey sounding guitars which get under skin, I don’t know how to describe this, but this track could be my new favourite grunge anthem, this is definitely going onto my playlist as its brilliant.

I Will Make You Pay, this might start out with more like an acoustic track with pianos and some orchestration, but this track does show of the versatility of the band and you will probably say Damn these are good, it certainly made me say it.

Far is the last track off the album and is an amazing track that will get you going, as it has got the some brilliant drumming and guitars and the vocals are excellent, its similar to some of the big hits of the early 90’s like Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit. Far is going onto my playlist.

I would highly recommend this album if you like Grunge and Hard Rock. You can get this album from Steewees play house and you can download the album or buy the CD.

Now, there is something special on this album, and if you get the album and find what this something special, please go to Project Metal Music’s Facebook page and post there and say what it is.

I would definitely give Stacy Brown And The Big Bad Wolves a 4.5 out of 5

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

