Filthy Rebel, DD3, Moses Mo – 2 Ton Message Solo Project: Alpharetta, GA Gig Review

August 20, 2016 – Alpharetta, GA – TJ’s Sports Bar

A mf good evening, was waiting for it for weeks, it brought out mother’s finest in music. The mf connection is, two of the bands are solo projects from members of Mother’s Finest. I grew up with these guys and had the pleasure of seeing Moses Mo’s solo project two weeks earlier, so I had to write about it.

The evening started later than expected, which was good, since I was late (again). To my defense, I was waiting on someone. So after getting a good spot and waiting on my beer, DD3 took the stage. Dion Derek, head of the band, is the current drummer for Mother’s Finest and son of founding members Joyce and Glenn (which I did not know at the time). And it was awesome!

Songs like Can You See the Sun and Made Up My Mind really rocked the place. I could have sworn Dion became very emotional towards the end of the set, this is how much passion he puts into his music. Their cover versions of Nirvana, Foo Fighters and The Cult were absolute highlights, this band ruled the stage even with their slightly slower tune Where I Wanna Be. I would suggest supporting this upcoming artist, he has the music in his blood. Check him out at: https://www.reverbnation.com/dionic

Here are three short 10-second clips from the evening.

Moving on in the evening, after a short break it was time for Moses Mo and his 2 Ton Message Solo Project. As I had mentioned, I was lucky to have experienced this band two weeks earlier. If you know Moses Mo from Mother’s Finest, you know what a great guitarist he is. I would describe 2 Ton Message as a MF meets Linkin Park, although that doesn’t quite do them the honor they deserve for this musical artwork.

I am pretty sure they turned the volume up because it was louder than The Marquis (incase you remember my Lacuna Coil concert revue). But this only heated up the energy. After Round and Round, All the Time and Can’t Have Nothing the crowd gave a standing ovation. When Sometimes I Feel was over the mood in the bar was very good. Moses shredded the guitar and the mostly middle aged crowd were rocking their asses off. Soulwrecker, Don’t Talk To Me and yes, a song about coffee even (yay) had the crowd on their feet.

Definitely, if Moses Mo comes to your town, check them out, you will not be disappointed.

You can find Moses Mo on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MosesMoMF and be sure to listen in to his music here: https://www.reverbnation.com/garymosesmomoore

And again 3 short clips from the evening.

Last band of the night was Filthy Rebel. I had not heard of this band before, but the name promised some dirty rock n roll. And they delivered!

Be it a Beastie Boys cover version with Moses and Dion or their song Never Again about an ex, they rocked the house. I need to see these guys again. Drums and bass were really the bomb and the singer complimented these with his voice. “The Adele of hard rock n roll”. I was sad when the evening ended, but they all must end sometime.

Check out Filthy Rebel at https://www.reverbnation.com/filthyrebel

And here the short clips.

 

5 thoughts on “Filthy Rebel, DD3, Moses Mo – 2 Ton Message Solo Project: Alpharetta, GA Gig Review

  1. I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

    Like

  2. Your article has proven useful to me. It’s very helpful and you are certainly
    very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this
    topic with helpful as well as solid content.

    Like

Leave a Reply

