Waste Of Space & Fleckt Pets: Gig Review

For the last couple of weeks, when I found out that Waste Of Space were doing a gig at Pop Recs Ltd in Sunderland, UK. So when the day arrived and made my way down to the venue, OK, the venue is very intimate, but that doesn’t detract from putting some really cool bands on, as the fans can get up close and personal with them, and it gives more of a better show. When I got into Pop Recs just after 7pm, the staff there are welcoming and friendly, as they were the last time I was there just a few weeks back, when I saw Dean James.

Before I went inside I got on talking to Chris Thompson (Lead singer/guitarist for Waste Of Space), and said to me that you can go in. As I went I ordered a Cappuccino,  and got on talking to Waste Of Space, as Fleckt Pets were setting up and doing their soundcheck, I was listening to them do it, and it sounded pretty decent. As the official time for the doors were 7:30pm, usually Waste Of Space fans turn up early so they can talk to the band, but there wasn’t many there at the time. As it neared time for Fleckt Pets set to start, which was 8:20pm there were a good few more people that came in.

Fleckt Pets

There are times when I go and see a new band, I try not to listen to them, as I do give them the benefit of me not tainting my perception of them, plus it gives me the chance to see how entertaining they are. The first song that they did was pretty decent, they were solid enough that they caught my attention. and over the next couple of songs that followed on from the first track they did. This fourth track was proper heavy, and it did come close to making my ears bleed but in a good way. Now bearing in mind that the singer had a radio mic, he started the song, he had a bit of a wander around the venue whilst singing, as I lost sight of him for a brief second, but he came back into view with some toilet paper and I thought why did you get that for, but didn’t quite hear what he said on why he got it.

The fifth track followed in the same vain as the fourth. Over the next few songs the singer wandered about the venue and started to play a game called Connect 4 with the staff of Pop Recs Ltd etc, and the bassist, guitarist and singer when outside whilst playing, bearing in mind that the venue is on one of the  busy main roads in Sunderland, and a lot of buses go past there, people must of been thinking “What the hell is going on” but it was all part of the entertainment. Near the end of their set, the singer got a coupe of spoons and started to play them and he gave one to a member of the audience and that member throw that spoon on the floor and this went on for about 30 seconds and thats when their set finished.

Waste Of Space

Over the last few months I have seen them twice prior to this gig and this time that I have seen them they are getting better and better each time that I see them. their first song was really good, Half Man, Half Razor was the next song that they did and it was awesome to hear. Manual Labour was the next song and it is a new track from Waste Of Space, and it is about someone who went to university to get a degree, and after they got it, they couldn’t get a job that they wanted, so they had to get a job that consisted of manual labour, but the debts of going to university were crippling them and they ended up on the streets because of it. This song is pretty amazing.

Nepal is about a 1 minute 30 seconds long and is still one hell of a track, as they were playing this song the drummer Jack, was an animal on the drums as he was brutalizing them and Chris (singer/guitarist) said after they finished the song, that he was playing fast for the track and jokingly said that his water must of been spiked.

PPP is their penultimate track they did and they were brilliant and they crowd were really liking what they were hearing. as their set was coming to a close, they did their final song and it was fast and brutal as it should be, as they are awesome punk band.

On the night when they played Manual Labour (new) song that got me thinking, are they going into the studio to record an album, so I went to their record label (Forgotten City Records) and it appears that they are in the studio recording.

Ratings.

I would give Fleckt Pets a 4.5 out of 5 the show might of gotten a bit weird (I do like the weird and wonderful), even by my standards, but they were good, so check them out here on their Facebook page.

I would give Waste Of Space a 5 out of 5 as everytime I see them, they are getting better and better each time I have seen them, so go and check them out here on their Facebook page.

Project Metal Music

2 thoughts on “Waste Of Space & Fleckt Pets: Gig Review

  1. Attractive component of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment or even I fulfillment you
    get entry to persistently fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

