Lacuna Coil: Atlanta, GA concert review

June 5, 2006 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade.

Lacuna Coil and friends had invited their fans for a night of fun and rock. As usual, I arrived too late and missed Painted Wives. I am sure they were awesome though since I had heard their music on Spotify previous to the concert.

When I arrived 9Electric was on stage and boy did they kick it. Songs like Destroy As You Go, Goodbye and Naked really rocked the place. Towards the end of their gig, they were joined onstage by Stitched Up Heart’s vocalist “Mixi” Demner for “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap”. This band was so good that I consider myself a fan now and cannot wait to buy their debut album “The Damaged Ones” which will be released July 15th. If you ever have the chance to see this band, I suggest you do.  I know I will next time they come around again. I was lucky to meet the lead singer Ron “Thunderwood” after their gig and have to say, what a nice guy.

IMG_6588[1]

At this point, please excuse the picture quality.

Next up was the band I originally came to see, Stitched Up Heart. Playing mostly songs from their soon to be released (June 17th) full album “Never Alone”, I really do think they stepped it up a notch. Songs like Finally Free, Monster and Catch Me When I Fall even got a small mosh pit started. The band is very active on stage and you cannot help but feel the urge to bang your head. These guys were definitely the winners of the evening and  I was so happy to finally see them perform and meet all of them. They are really, really appreciative of their fans and take the time to meet everyone, hugs from Mixi included.

IMG_6592[1]

Last up was Lacuna Coil, the headliner. They blasted it right from the start, but I was slightly annoyed by the light show. Playing mostly songs from their new album “delirium”, which seems to have a way heavier beat than everything before, this band DID get a mosh pit going. Since Andrea was hospitalized they needed support from the fans. A young lady was pulled on stage and although it seemed staged, put in a good show fro the deep vocals. Other highlights were their all to know tune “Heaven’s a Lie” as well as the Depeche Mode cover “Enjoy the Silence” which brought all the other bands on stage to perform alongside. We were having a party!

IMG_6606[1].JPG

All in all, I had a great time even though I missed Painted Wives, but it was definitely worth the money. An easy 5 out of 5 and I wished the evening would have never ended.

Robert – Project Metal Music

 

4 thoughts on “Lacuna Coil: Atlanta, GA concert review

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty
    worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

