Socks For Cocks: Fast Fun Punk Album Review

25 years ago when I first heard of Lawnmower Deth, it was when they released cover of Kim Wilde’s Kids In America. Now over time Lawnmower Death faded from my memory, until the 2nd of December of last year, where I was listening to (well in the background) BBC Radio 2’s Simon Mayo’ Drivetime, on there, there is a segment called Confessions, it was on this, someone emailed in confessing that he was a guy who was at a Lawnmower Deth gig in 1993 (but he wasn’t) and he wrote in to Kerrang Magazine claiming a prize. I was like “Where have I heard of this band from”, but when Simon Mayo played Kids In America by Lawnmower Deth, I pretty much remembered thats where I heard them from. So I started to follow them on social media. Over time since then, I did some reviews and interviews with Lawnmower Deth. Well a couple of month back Lawnmower Deth Pete posted something on Facebook, and I thought “What the hell is this” the track is called My Saytanic Friend and when I clicked onto it, when I first listened to it I was scratching my head, then burst out laughing, but I did listened to it a good few times, and thought, “This is good, cheesy, but good”.

As Socks For Cocks approached Project Metal Music to do a review of the Fast Fun Punk album. We ask Lawnmower Deth Pete how Socks approached Pete to become a guest vocalist, he replied “They’re fans of the band and messaged me through Facebook to as if I’d contribute. It was that simple.”

When I started to do this review, I had some minor technical difficulties in playing the album which was sent by Socks For Cocks, but we managed to get around it by going to Bandcamp https://socksforcocks.bandcamp.com/album/fast-fun-punk, and thought “Screw it, I’ll buy it” as I listened to some of the track on there, plus I heard My Saytanic Friend, so…. So I downloaded it.

As I started to play the album after it was downloaded (granted its only 22 minutes long), well it starts off with Back to Rock’n’Lol, where you hear someone knocking a door, then kicking it in and saying “Ha, We’re Back” then going into some nice riffing, and this sets up the rest of album superbly.

My Saytanic Friend feat. Lawnmower Deth Pete, this is very funny if you listen to the lyrics, but it is brilliantly good, it is in the style of Thrash Metal, and its about a guy called Mork who is into Satanism etc and goes on to say that he is OK. This song definitely pokes fun at Satan. This track has some really good riffs, OK it might be only 2 minutes long but it is packed with riffs, plus it is very, very catchy, and once it gets into your head it will be hard to it back out.

My Hair is longer than Thine is the next song, this song is about a balding man who tries to grow his hair as he is a metaller but can’t, as he is going bald. The music for this track is of a crossover as it combines punk and metal into a sublime mix of riffs typical of the metal genre and the edgy guitars and vocals of punk.

A Lifehack for a Wreck is about a guy who just doesn’t do much as he is timid, and the only thing he does is to play music loud. This is another track that is catchy as this track in the same vain as Iron Maiden in the styling of the guitars are arranged.

Surgeon’s Bride loved Goregrind and Sorry Dude Interlude. When I heard this track I thought “What the hell is this I’m listening to”. As I have listened to these tracks a few times and I have read the lyrics for those, Surgeon’s Bride loved Goregrind is about couples on their wedding day and something is said are done and then all hell breaking loose, where the bride beating the shit out of everyone. The music for this song is grindcore, thrash and even some death metal chucked in there for good measure, at the start, the Wedding March kicks the song off and at the end of this song someone says “Gee man, Thought you were supposed to be a punk band”  and thats when Sorry Dude Interlude starts and apologizes for the previous song and it goes into punk.

A Troll from Tirol, this is about a guy going to Tirol and meeting a troll and the troll gives some advise to the guy about his vocal range, but after, the troll doesn’t leave the guy alone, as he follows and trolls on him. This has some pretty good guitars on this track, plus there is some Yodeling as well which helps the story of this song along pretty well.

Office Sex Has NO FX, this is about someone who wants a singer/band to get back together and show them how to write a hit song, but its their ego is standing in their way that they wont be able to do it. The sound of this song is a really solid punk track but on some elements their is a bit of Speed metal in their.

Horse-Major is a little ditty but has some thrash metal to it.

Thrashin’ Granma, this song is about a young kid who wants to be told a story, but not from a story book, but he wants a story from his Granma’s life as a girl. She picks up an acoustic guitar and starts strumming away, but within seconds she launches into some heavy duty black metal, and sings about what he had to endure when her neighbours started to play loud music. This song is going onto my playlist.

Commercial Motherfucker is about the commercial globalization, and the effects it has on the people and politics. It goes on to say that, when a business person goes into politics, the people will not listen to them as they are in politics to line their own pockets. All of this is over laid with some really good punk music.

Dr. Seuss / Tongue You Lose, I have read the lyrics to this track, and from what I have found is that, it is a tongue twister song and how Dr. Seuss can put words together and really concentrate on those words, also they sing about how Dr. Seuss is going to get your tongue and get it verbally and linguistically molested and if you say the Dr. Seuss part fast you are going to lose. The music to this is very bouncy punk, and it works really well with the lyrics.

A Noodle for Udo is about a guy who breaks a friends signed CD of a musician he likes, and it goes on to say how they have fallen out with each other and it is destroying the relationship. This has a Metalcore vibe to it, and there is some sweet little riffs to this track.

Fast Fun Punks is a very cheerful, fun track to listen to, it has some quality bass guitar riffs/solos and is well constructed.

Tenor Terror is about a Operatic singer who has done a collaboration with Socks For Cocks and what come of the opera singer. This track is brilliant as it combines punk, opera, little bit symphonic and a bit of thrash, and it does work well.

Whew! Curfew! is the outro track off this album and they say “See you guys later” and it is canny little punk song.

I have listened to this album a good few times and I can genuinely say that I have enjoyed this offering from Socks For Cocks, I would highly recommend this album to anyone, as it is good. But the only negative thing I have to say about this album is that they could of fleshed it out it more, but other than that, the album is brilliant.

I would give this album a 4 to a 4.5 out of 5 for some awesome tracks on this album.

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

