Powerwolf: Blessed And Possessed Album Review

In July 2015 I was trawling through You Tube watching random videos. This is when I stumbled on Powerwolf, a band that can only describe as “How the hell did I miss yet another good band”. Granted there are times that I don’t listen to much new music, but when I do, I make up for it. When I watched Powerwolf’s videos for the Blessed And Possessed album, I was thinking “OMG this band is bloody good”.

After I did a bit of research on the band, I found out that the band is from Germany, consisting of two brothers named Charles and Matthew Greywolf with Roel van Helden and Falk Maria Schlegel and the lead singer Attila Dorn who is Romanian. Dorn is a classical operatic singer and wanted a change of direction at the time when Powerwolf was created. It was when Charles and Matthew were on holiday in Romania they met up with Dorn and asked him to join the band as they didn’t have a suitable singer at the time, and the rest, as they say, is history. I noticed on some of the videos that they had released a new album, Blessed And Possessed.

I went out and bought it. Over time I have listened to this album a good few times and I have to say: I’m Impressed. The album is a 2 disc affair, the first disc is of original material by Powerwolf, it is full of myth and legends about werewolves, vampires and the like, which is set to the thunderous sound of power and speed metal.

The second disc is made up of covers of bands such as Iron Maiden’s The Evil That Men Do and Gary Moore’s Out In The Fields, which they do good justice and make the songs their own. If you haven’t heard of Powerwolf go check them out, they are amazing. They do take themselves seriously enough to be brilliant musicians, but also have that tongue-in-cheek mentality that they can have a laugh at themselves, especially if you see any of their live videos on You Tube where they get their fans involved with the songs. If you are new to Powerwolf, you can’t go wrong with getting the Blessed And Possessed album. If you are an existing fan and haven’t heard the album, go out and get it now.

I would give Blessed And Possessed 4.5 out of 5

Project Metal Music

Leave a Reply

